Google warns millions of users to check important iPhone and Android app setting now | The Sun

World News

DID you realise that your photos capture the location of where they were taken?

Whether it's on iPhone or Android, it happens on all smartphones.

It's a useful way to know when a special memory took place.

The feature is pretty safe.

But not everyone is comfortable with the idea of locations being logged.

Particularly for photos taken at home or work.

Read more about Google

Google hides ‘meteorite’ trick – but there’s an even better secret to find

People are just realizing Google is spelled wrong and its real hidden meaning

If you use Google Photos to store your images, the tech giant is now alerting you about something related, called estimated photo locations.

This uses things like visible landmarks to work out where the photo was taken.

As the alert explains, photo locations come from multiple locations, including locations estimated by Google Photos.

Google stopped using Location History to estimate photo locations but they are continuing to guess using other sources instead when 'estimate missing locations' is switched on.

Most read in Tech

SKY HIGH!

Sky customers could save £7 a month with simple tweak – check your account today

TAD SUSPICIOUS

Mysterious giant 'space tadpole' discovered and could be hiding a secret

WHAT A SIGHT TO SEA

Inside Titanic as never-before-seen footage of wreck released

GOLDEN APPLE

iPhone fans are rushing to buy bargain £2 Apple accessory from Argos

When you open the Google Photos app, you'll be asked whether you want to keep any existing estimated locations, or whether you want to remove them.

If you do decide to delete them, you'll be warned before: "Deleting estimated photo locations based on Location History may result in permanent loss of those estimated locations.

"Your photos will be kept."

It's up to you to decide what you're comfortable with.

Either way, get thinking before May comes.

If you don't choose to keep your estimated locations before May 1st, 2023, Google will automatically remove the estimations.

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

  • How to delete your Instagram account
  • What does pending mean on Snapchat?
  • How to check if you've been blocked on WhatsApp
  • How to drop a pin on Google Maps
  • How can I change my Facebook password?
  • How to go live on TikTok
  • How to clear the cache on an iPhone
  • What is NFT art?
  • What is OnlyFans?
  • What does Meta mean?

Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk

Source: Read Full Article